… what happened to Carly’s Jesus Christ Superstar?????

We had to bid farewell to Carly Smithson on American Idol (AI) tonight. It was inevitable I suppose given AI’s reputation as a popularity contest as opposed to a talent contest. At least she made it to the Top 6.

My contention however is not with the results. My contention is with ASTRO.  If you caught AI tonight, you would notice that Carly Smithson sang Lord Andrew Lloyd Webber’s Jesus Christ Superstar again. But you would not be able to catch the whole song & it was censored  blatantly when the chorus started …… “Jesus Christ, Superstar….”

Well, I question the reason for this. Is this because of religious sensitivities? Is it a timing issue? I’d like to think it was for the latter but I suspect, NO.  

All I can say is songs & lyrics are just part of an artistic expression. It was a rock song from the musical “Jesus Christ Superstar” which told a tale of a certain historical personality. In this case of Jesus Christ. It was not a piece of religious propaganda. It was not a piece sung to convert non believers. Think of it logically, Andrew Lloyd Webber is no evangelist…. It’s ART for goodness sake.

Voice of Judas
Every time I look at you
I don’t understand
Why you let the things you did
Get so out of hand
You’d have managed better
If you’d had it planned
Now why’d you choose such a backward time
And such a strange land?If you’d come today
You could have reached the whole nation
Israel in 4 BC had no mass communication
Don’t you get me wrong
Don’t you get me wrong
Don’t you get me wrong, now
Don’t you get me wrong
Don’t you get me wrong
Don’t you get me wrong
Don’t you get me wrong, now
Don’t you get me wrong

Only want to know
Only want to know
Only want to know, now
Only want to know
Only want to know
Only want to know
Only want to know, now
Only want to know

Jesus Christ
Jesus Christ
Who are you? What have you sacrificed?
Jesus Christ
Jesus Christ
Who are you? What have you sacrificed?
Jesus Christ
Superstar
Do you think you’re what they say you are?
Jesus Christ
Superstar
Do you think you’re what they say you are?

 
                                                     …………. (for full lyrics, click here)
 
 

 

Tell me, if you heard the song & you read the lyrics above, would you be compelled to alter your religious beliefs. Would you be compelled to do anything besides express musical appreciation. It was but a beautiful piece of rock music with lyrics sung in context with the theme of the musical. Fullstop. Nothing more, nothing less. Please don’t butcher ART.

5 responses to “… what happened to Carly’s Jesus Christ Superstar?????

  1. I didn’t follow American Idol. From what you describe, I find our censorship board is SO DAMN STUPID.

    Remember, they earlier didn’t want to let the cartoon from Walt Disney, The Prince of Egypt to be shown in Malaysia due to religious content? For God’s sakes, you think cartoon would alter people’s beliefs?? Then, might as well, put a note there – for non Muslims only like they put in pamphlets or invitations to churches!

    I just watched Kite Runner and it showcased Talibans stoning a woman to death, and Talibans committed incest. I wonder why they didn’t censor that? It’s the truth, maybe. And above all, the funniest is, they rated this movie “U” with scenes of sodomy, people repelling mullahs’ teaching and muslims drinking wine with their food.

  2. Gina: Oh dear, I haven’t watched the Kite Runner. Yes, it is indeed sad that our censorship board possesses such double standard & lopsided priorities. …sigh, that’s why efforts to curb the pirated DVD market will always be futile I suppose …

  3. Oh, I didn’t know a movie was made on Kite Runner; I’ve just finished the book. Interesting about the non-censorship of those scenes; I’d have thought they’d be the first to go. Trying to see things from the Censor Board’s point of view, I think it’s not so much a fear of altering people’s beliefs as irreverant reference to the Prophet and associated topics. Better be safe than eliciting a backlash from religious authorities you see. A backlash from the public is less consequential.

  4. It is just blatant indifference and disregard for the non Muslims. The message is clearly that you have no religious rights, no rights to even listen to the words “Jesus Christ” and one fine day, if they could, you would be fined for uttering the words “Jesus Christ” in public (even though it was meant to be a swear word).

  5. Pink Jeans: I see where you’re coming from but sometimes the censorship board can be terlampau…. I have had issues of National Geographic with pics inside defiled by markers due to so called ‘obscene’ displays of ‘nudity’ & guess what, they’re pictures of half dressed natives in South America or sometimes they’re just pictures of nude sculptures …… These would not elicit the kind of backlash you’re refering to surely? or would they… sigh….Moronic.

    Asme: God forbid the scenario that you have just painted…… !!!!!

Leave a Reply

