The American Dream lives on…

barack1I am a cynic where politics is concerned but I take my hats off to America.

Clichéd though it may sound, they have proven to the world that the American Dream does exist.  Let’s take a look at Barack Obama. He’s  a 47 year old Illinois Senator with  only 4 years experience. He was born in Hawaii. He  lived in Indonesia during his early adolescent years ..  AND he has Hussein for a middle name. And guess what  ….. he will be the 44th US President come January 20, 2009. The first black president in the history of the U.S.A.

He will be the most powerful man, in one of the most powerful nations in the world, for the next four years…at least.  

There’s no denying that  bigotry and prejudice exists in this vast continent. It exists everywhere for God’s sake. But it appears quite a few Americans managed to look past the colour of his skin and his middle name and voted for change.  It was not about the individual. It was about the cause.

349 electoral votes vs. 162. A clear endorsement. 

Some say that the Republicans got voted out as a result of the economic crisis. Brushing critics aside,  the majority of Americans scored high in the department of racial acceptance.  It was only 45 years ago, that the height of the civil rights movement brought on by Martin Luther King came into play. Those were times when segregationist policies in the South were still being practised. And yet today, … America has voted for a black President. A black president in white America. A historic moment indeed.

The NST reported yesterday that Obama once said at the 2004 Democratic National Convention: “As I stand here today, grateful for the diversity of my heritage, aware that my parents’ dreams live on in my two precious daughters. I stand here knowing that my story is part of the larger American story, that I owe a debt to all those who came before me, and that in no other country on Earth is my story even possible.” …  “Only in America.”

I couldn’t agree more. Only in America.

Will there ever be a similar story told in Bolehland … the land that I live on …, I wonder? Only if you believe in miracles, I suppose.

 

8 responses to “The American Dream lives on…

  1. I like that…Bolehland…haha! Jokes aside, Obama will definitely go down in the history books, just as his pre-pre-pre… (… pre to the power of 28) -decessor, Abe Lincoln, did by abolishing the very trade that affected Obama’s ancestors, slavery. And isn’t it a cool name? Not only his first name unusual and middle name unexpected, but hey, he even shares his last name with the first name of the most wanted man on the planet. Go-bama!

  2. Ooops…ignore my last but one sentence in the post above. Obama is NOT the same as Osama. Sorry!

  3. PJ: Ahahahaha …. now I’m sure the last but one sentence was intentional..hee hee!!!!!!!!!!

  4. PJ: Wah..you sure do know your history of US Presidents… pre to the power of 28 … I’m impressed!!!!!

  5. Haha! I think the whole world rejoice becoz of this! And even the sleepy head said, ANYONE can be PM in this bolehland. what a big joke! I wonder if he said this in his dreams? since he’s always sleeping.

  6. Gina: LOL … did sleepyhead actually say that?..I missed that …Yup you’re right, probably said it in his sleep – DREAM ON lah … But hey … something else to rejoice about, RPK has been freed!!!!!!!! So lovely to see his wife kissing him upon his release …

  7. Someone commented to me that Obama will be more pro-white than a white President.

    I replied that there is nothing wrong with that. It just proves that the system works. I can’t wait for the dream to beecome a reality where a Malaysian Prime Minister of Malay decent is pro Chinese or a Malaysian Prime Miniter of Chinese decent is pro Indian and likely wise if it was a Prime Minister of an Indian decent. Only then we can all become colour blind.

  8. Asme: AYE AYE to that!!!!!

Leave a Reply

